ICC Champions Trophy 2017: BCCI announces 15-member India squad

revenueThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 8 May 2017 announced the 15 man Indian squad which will take part in International Cricket Council, ICC Champions Trophy which is scheduled to be held in June 2017 in England. This announcement came after BCCI cleared the Indian team’s participation in the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in its Special General Meeting.

The Indian squad of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 includes:
• Virat Kohli (Captain)
• Shikhar Dhawan
• Rohit Sharma
• Ajinkya Rahane
• Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk)
• Yuvraj Singh
• Kedar Jadhav
• Hardik Pandya
• R Ashwin
• Ravindra Jadeja
• Mohammad Shami
• Umesh Yadav
• Bhuvneshwar Kumar
• Jasprit Bumrah
• Manish Pandey

The only surprise inclusion in the squad is that of Manish Pandey. Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh were three senior Indian players who failed to find place in the squad despite a good show in the ongoing season of Indian Premier League (IPL).

Indian team led by Virat Kohli is scheduled to open its ICC Champions Trophy campaign on 4 June 2017 at Edgbaston against Pakistan, followed by matches with Sri Lanka on 8 June and South Africa on 11 June at Kennington Oval. Four years ago in 2013, Indian team led by MS Dhoni lifted the ICC Champions Trophy by beating England.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons