2012 Delhi gang rape‬‬ case: Supreme Court confirms death sentence for four convicts

The Supreme Court on 5 May 2017 confirmed the death penalty for the four convicts of the 2012 gang rape and murder of Nirbhaya. A bench headed by Justice Dipak Misra and Justices R Banumathi and Ashok Bhushan was hearing an appeal filed by the four convicts – Akshay, Pawan, Vinay Sharma and Mukesh, who challenged the Delhi High Court’s ruling of confirmation of death sentence handed to them by a trial court in 2013. Nirbhaya rape-cum-murder case is the rarest of rare case. The brutal, barbaric, and demonaical conduct of the convicts shook the conscience of humanity. On 16 December 2012, 23-year old para-medical student Damini or Nirbhaya was gang raped and brutalised with an iron rod on a moving bus in Delhi.

Nirbhaya lost her battle for life in Mount Elizabeth Hospital in Singapore on 29 December 2012. She was raped in the moving bus by six men, one of which included a minor. Of the six accused, Ram Singh hanged himself in prison, while another, who was a juvenile at the time of the crime, was convicted in August 2016 and will serve the maximum sentence of three years in a reform home. However, this gang rape case led to massive protests across the country. Following this, Former Chief Justice of India Altamas Kabir inaugurated the first fast-track court in Delhi on 2 January 2013 for dealing with the crimes against females. This court was set up as ‘The District Court of Saket’ and its first case was 2012 Delhi gang rape case itself. The court pronounced the sentence of death penalty to the four convicts namely Akshay Thakur, Vinay Sharma, Mukesh Singh and Pawan Gupta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons