Veteran actress Saira Banu, Jackie Shroff gets Raj Kapoor awards

Veteran actress Saira Banu and actor Jackie Shroff were named for the prestigious Raj Kapoor awards of the Maharashtra Government. The names of the duo were announced on 19 April 2017 by the State Cultural Affairs Minister Vinod Tawde in Mumbai. Saira Banu (72) will be awarded with the prestigious Raj Kapoor Lifetime achievement award, while Jackie Shroff (60) was selected for the Raj Kapoor Special contribution award. They will be awarded for their cinematic journey and contributions to the Indian cinema respectively.

Prominent films of Saira Banu includes “Junglee” (1961), “Purab aur Paschim” (1970), “Victoria No. 203” (1972), “JwarBhata”, “Padosan” and “Bairag” (1976). Prominent films of Shroff include “Hero” (1983), “Teri Meherbaniyan” (1984), “Sazish”. He had won the Filmfare best actor award for his role in the film “Parinda” (1990). Other awards announced on the occasion were: V. Shantaram Lifetime Achievement award: Noted Marathi actor Vikram Gokhale. V. Shantaram Special Contribution annual award: Noted Marathi actor Arun Nalawade.

Gokhale and Nalawade will be awarded for their achievements and contributions to the film industry. Both the lifetime achievement awards carry a citation and cash of Rs five lakh each, while both the special contribution awards carry a citation and Rs three lakh cash. The awards will be presented at the upcoming 54th Maharashtra State Marathi Film Festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons