Harmanpreet Kaur named Aus T20 team’s Player of the Year

India’s women’s T20I team captain Harmanpreet Kaur has been named Player of the Year by Australia’s Women’s Big Bash League team Sydney Thunder. Harmanpreet earlier had become the first Indian cricketer to play in Australia’s Big Bash League, when she was picked by the team last year.

She played 13 matches for the team, scoring 296 runs. Pat Cummins, who was brought in a replacement for Mitchell Starc during Australia’s tour of India, after the Ranchi Test, won the Michael Hussey Medal for the Best Men’s Player of the Year award for the Men’s Sydney Thunder franchise.

Last year, the 28-year-old became the first ever Indian cricketer to be picked by a Big Bash League franchise, when the Sydney Thunder picked her in their squad. Kaur’s selection was soon followed by that of Smriti Mandhana, who was picked by the Brisbane Heat, later in the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons