Tamil Nadu beat India ‘B’ by 42 runs to win Deodhar Trophy

Tamil Nadu on 29 March 2017 defeated India ‘B’ by 42 runs in the final to clinch the Deodhar Trophy. The final of the 50-overs cricket tournament was played at the ACA-VDCA stadium in Vishakhapatnam. Tamil Nadu’s Dinesh Karthik shared a 136-run stand with Narayan Jagadeesan (55) for the fourth wicket which drove Tamil Nadu to 303/9 in 50 overs.

With the victory, Tamil Nadu became the first state side to win the three-team one-day tournament. The Deodhar Trophy is a List A cricket competition in Indian domestic cricket. The tournament is named after Professor D. B. Deodhar, who is known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket. It is a 50-over knockout competition played on an annual basis.

The competition was introduced in 1973-74 season and was realigned in the 2015-16 season with the winners of Vijay Hazare Trophy playing two teams India A and India B selected by the BCCI. From 2015-16, three Teams play each other in league matches and the top two of the three teams after the league stages clash in the finals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons