Mumbai lose its permanent status in Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI)

Mumbai on 19 March 2017 lost its permanent status in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It lost the voting rights in accordance with the new constitution of the Indian Cricket Board, which was finalised by the Committee of Administrators (COA) appointed by the Supreme Court of India. The new rules of Memorandum of Associations (MOA) and Rules & Regulations of BCCI clearly states, there could be only one full member from a state.

In addition to it, the new constitution of the Indian cricket board also grants full membership with voting rights to all the North Eastern states, namely Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Sikkim. The full membership with voting rights was given to the North Eastern states as recommended in Lodha Panel reforms.

Other states to receive the full membership include Telangana and Uttarakhand. On the other hand, Bihar gets back its voting right but it will start functioning only after the pending cases are over. Ranji champions’ along with Baroda and Saurashtra are associate members and will take turns to rotate annually to vote. The new Memorandum of Association has also taken away the proxy system. The Committee of Administrators has strictly adhered to the reforms that have been passed by the Supreme Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons