Congress won the 2017 Assembly Elections in Punjab State

Election Commission of India on 11 March 2017 announced the results of the 2017 Assembly elections in Punjab State. Punjab voted in a single phase on 4 February 2017. Congress led by Amrinder Singh succeeded in winning 77 seats in the state. With this, Congress also emerged as the largest party in the state.

On the other hand, the ruling SAD+BJP combine failed in saving the government in the state. The party was decimated to 18 seats. Aam Aadmi Party, which is a new entrant to the assembly elections in Punjab, was able to secure 20 seats. The counting of votes for the 117 seats in Punjab assembly elections 2017 began at 8am. The first election trends and results are expected within an hour.

The Election Commission (EC) has set up 54 counting centres in 27 locations in Punjab. The EC has issued strict guidelines on security arrangements for counting of votes and has prohibited mobile phones inside the counting halls. A three-tier security perimeter has been created at the counting centres.

Punjab Results 2017 – Party wise Seats

Akali Dal-BJP alliance (NDA)18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons