BJP won 2017 Assembly Elections of Uttarakhand State

Election Commission of India on 11 March 2017 announced the results of the 2017 Assembly elections of Uttarakhand State. The elections were held in a single phase on 15 February 2017 for 70 assembly seats. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which fought the state election without declaring its Chief Ministerial candidate, succeeded in winning 57 seats, which also makes it as the largest party in the state.

On the other hand, the ruling Congress led by Harish Rawat failed in saving the government in the state. The party was decimated to 11 seats. The election in Karnaprayag in Uttarakhand was delayed following a BSP candidate’s demise. The assembly voted on 9 March 2017 to choose a candidate from the seat.

Uttarakhand Results 2017 – Party wise Seats


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons