Kohli named captain of the year at ESPN cricinfo awards

kohli ESPN cricinfo awardsIndian national cricket team captain, Virat Kohli was named the ‘Captain of the Year’ at the 10th annual ESPN cricinfo awards. The winners were decided by an independent jury comprising some of the world renowned former cricketers including Ian Chappell, Aakash Chopra, Mahela Jayawardene, Iain O’Brien, Courtney Walsh, Ramiz Raja and the Editor-in-chief, Assistant editor and senior correspondents of ESPN cricinfo awards.

While Kohli won the esteemed title for his impressive tally of leading India to nine wins from a total of 12 tests, England’s Ben Stokes won the title of ‘Test Batting Performance of the Year’ for his incredible innings of 258 runs off 198 balls against South Africa in Cape Town.

Another English player, Stuart Broad was honoured with the ‘Test Bowling Performance of the Year’ award for the second year in a row for taking 6 wickets and giving away just 17 runs in England’s third test against South Africa in Johannesburg. Further, the ‘Debutant of the Year’ title very deservingly went to Mehedi Hasan Miraz, a young Bangladeshi bowler who took 19 wickets in just two test matches against England.

Following is the full list of winners:



Test batting winner Ben Stokes
Test bowling winner Stuart Broad
ODI batting winner Quinton de Kock
ODI bowling winner Sunil Narine
T20I batting winner Carlos Brathwaite
T20I bowling winner Mustafizur Rahman
Captain of the year Virat Kohli
Debutant of the year Mehedi Hasan
Associate batting winner Mohammad Shahzad
Associate bowling winner Mohammad Nabi
Women’s batting winner Hayley Matthews
Women’s bowling winner Leigh Kasperek

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons