Robert De Niro to be honoured with Chaplin Award

Robert De Niro has been named the recipient of the 44th annual Chaplin Award, The Film Society of Lincoln Center announced Saturday.

The Film Society will honor the Oscar-winning actor, seen next in The Comedian and co-directing A Bronx Tale on Broadway, at a gala on May 8.

The evening will celebrate his multifaceted career in cinema, including his filmography and his championing of independent film through the Tribeca Film Festival and Tribeca Film Institute.

Past recipients of the Film Society’s annual honor include Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sidney Poitier, Barbra Streisand, Robert Redford and, last year, Morgan Freeman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons