Sangeet Natak Akademi fellowships and awards for 2015 presented

pranab-mukharjee Sangeet Natak AkademiPresident Pranab Mukherjee on 4 October 2016 presented the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships (Akademi Ratna) and Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskars) for the Year-2015. The awards were presented at a function in Rashtrapati Bhawan.

C V Chandrasekhar, an eminent personality in the field of performing arts, was conferred with the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellow (Akademi Ratna). The Fellowship of the Akademi is the most prestigious and rare honour, which is restricted to 40 numbers at any given time. Presently there are only 40 Fellows of the Sangeet Natak Akademi.



In field of Music 2015 Akademi Award in field of Music was conferred on eleven artists and they are

  • Krishna Bisht and Mashkoor Ali Khan for Hindustani Vocal Music
  • Kartik Kumar for Hindustani Instrumental Music–Sitar
  • Brij Narayan for Hindustani Instrumental Music–Sarod
  • R N Thyagarajan and R N Tharanathan (joint award) for Carnatic Vocal Music
  • Suguna Varadhachari for Carnatic Vocal Music,
  • Lalgudi G J R Krishnan for Carnatic Instrumental Music–Violin, Mambalam M K S Siva for Carnatic Instrumental Music-Nagaswaram
  • Bhupinder Singh, Hridyanath Mangeshkar and Prafulla Kar for Other Major Traditions of Music–Sugam Sangeet
In field of Dance 2015 Akademi Award in field of Dance was conferred on nine artists and they are

  • Ranganayaki Jayaraman for Bharatanatyam
  • K Kunhiraman Nair for Kathakali
  • G Padmaja Reddy for Kuchipudi
  • Aloka Kanungo for Odissi
  • Sharodi Saikia for Sattriya Dance
  • Mandakini Trivedi for Mohiniattam
  • Sadashiva Pradhan for Chhau Dance
  • W Lokendrajit Singh for Contemporary/Experimental Dance
  • Rajkumar Bharathi for Music for Dance
In field of Theatre 2015 Akademi Award in field of Theatre was conferred on nine artists and they are

  • Nand Kishore Acharya and Shafaat Khan for Playwriting
  • Parvez Akhtar and Mushtaq Kak for Direction
  • Manoj N Joshi and Himani Shivpuri for Acting
  • Pradeep Mulye for Allied Theatre Arts–Scenic Design
  • Sarojini Nangiar for Other Major Traditions of Theatre–Kutiyattam
  • Rani Balbir Kaur for Overall Contribution in Theatre


In field of Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry 2015 Akademi Award in field of Theatre was conferred on ten artists and they are

  • Khuman Lal Sao for Folk Music of Chhattisgarh
  • Ramchandra Singh for Folk Theatre of Bihar
  • Khem Raj for Folk Music of Jammu and Kashmir
  • S R D Prasad for Martial Art of Kerala
  • Chhaya and Maya Khutegaonkar joint award for Folk Dance of Maharashtra-Lavani
  • Gangmei Aluna Kabuini for Traditional Dance and Music of Manipur
  • Paramjit Singh Sidhu for Folk Music of Punjab
  • Sayeed Sabri Jaipuri for Qawwali, Rajasthan
  • K K Ramachandra Pulavar and T N Sankaranathan for Puppetry


In the field of Overall Contribution/Scholarship to Performing Arts


  • Shanta Gokhale and Chaman Ahuja were conferred with the 2015 Akademi Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons