Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir Stoddart and Bernard Feringa win Nobel prize

Jean-Pierre Sauvage of France, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart of Scotland and Bernard L. Feringa of the Netherlands were awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday.

The prize, given by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, was presented “for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.”The French, Scottish and Dutch scientists had developed molecules with controllable movements that can perform tasks when energy is added, the Academy said in a statement awarding the 8 million Swedish crown ($931,000) prize.

About Them:

Sauvage is professor emeritus at the University of Strasbourg and director of research emeritus at France’s National Center for Scientific Research. Stoddart, born in Edinburgh, is professor of chemistry at Northwestern University in the United States, while Feringa is professor in organic chemistry at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons